My Pre-Birthday Choco Banofee Cookies

One of the things that I find funny about Puring’s Cafe in San Fernando is that it did not serve any cookies at all–nor any other baked good for that matter.  Or maybe they didn’t have to.

But if I ever have the chance to revamp it, I would definitely add a lot on the menu to make it friendlier to folks who love sweet stuff!  I want a cookie revolution!!! (Ok, that’s a bit overreacting..)

A little while ago, I wanted to have cookies that tasted like coffee and funny me, I want my cookies snappy or crunchy, like paciencia biscuits.

I usually made cookies with 2 1/4 cups flour but I wanted to make more cookies, was feeling a bit greedy so I looked through the net and found one with just the right proportions for me.

This is based on a recipe that I found on Baking Bites (thanks to generous people who share what they know on the web).

I did the usual mixing of the dry ingredients on a medium bowl and whisk.

Wet ingredients on a larger bowl and whisk.  I followed the recipe to a T but I added 2 tablespoons instant coffee to the wet ingredients.

I also added two ripe mashed bananas, which I had to use since they were already bruised and nobody would eat them anymore.

leftover bananas

Lovely Mashed Bananas

I put two bags of 7.something oz chocolate buttons and I just love the nutty taste even though there is not a single nut in the recipe!

Here is what the batter looked like:

Choco Banofee Batter

Choco Banofee Batter

Use your biggest spatula to fold gently just enough to wet the dry ingredients and create an even mix. Batter is quite heavy.

Then, freeze for a moment while you ready your oven to 350 degrees. In the original recipe, you’ll find that the temperature of the oven is at 325, but I always do bake my cookies at 350, I don’t know why, but it really depends on your oven’s mood. :-)

Around 8 minutes into the freezer, take your batter and scoop to a sheet lined with parchment paper. I used wax paper… Are they even the same? Hehe, that’s what I use all the time and I have never set it on fire at this temperature… yet.. Please tell me if I’m doing it wrong.

I baked these babies for a good 15-20 minutes.  However if you want your cookies soft and chewy, you can set your oven at 325 and bake for 15-20 minutes or better yet, just keep checking until you get the desired chewiness haha!

By the way, I used a 2 tbsp ice cream scoop. And here they are:

Choco Banofee Cookie

This is one good cookie!

Sorry just had to take a bite.. :-)

Next time, I’d definitely top this with vanilla ice cream. Also, I do not like my cookies too sweet so I will remove half a cup of the white sugar.

And I promise to bake in the morning so photos will look a lot better on my poor camera. Enjoy!

Ingredients for the Choco Banofee Cookies:
Baking Bites’s Really Good Chocolate Chips recipe*

2 tbsp instant coffee
3/4 c mashed bananas

* I used salted butter

Until next time!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

